My Lord and Lady gazing adoringly into each others eyes. 

 

You said it George! Humans are hard-wired to have faith in something. Whether that thing is a god or goddess or themselves, we must believe. If someone is curious and asks, I am happy to tell people about my religion and I explain what I believe. I am Pagan. If you don’t know what that is, it is an earth based religion. We believe that whatever we put out into the universe comes back to us. We believe words have power. We believe in multiple gods and goddess from various pantheons across the world and a Lord and Lady. We believe if there are men and women, why would there not be both as the head of our religion. We believe everyone is equal. We believe if you have good intentions, you will usually have a good outcome. Personally, I don’t see how any religion that believes this can be wrong.There are consequences for undue actions. We live by a law called the three-fold law. It basically says that if you put good energy/intentions out in the world, you will receive them back times three. However, the same goes for the bad energy and intentions we put out as well.

 

Naturally, since I live in the United States, where religious views are more set, I often get a confused reaction to my explanation. Since I live in the South, where I grew up Jewish, I am pretty used to this anyhow. Sure, Judaism is easier to understand. It is more “in line” with their beliefs. While living in Chicago, I enjoyed an extended period of religious tolerance that was quite nice. In any case, a few months ago a former co-worker  asked me, well how can you believe that there is a Lady? There is proof Jesus lived! I said sure, in a book, passed down thousands of years ago, written by a man. Nowadays, if someone claims god is talking to them, we put them in a mental institution. She didn’t love my answer.

Oh well. I encouraged my children to ask questions and to see what made the most sense to them. Just like my mother did (although she may question that decision now that she raised a Pagan and a Rastafarian). When my 22 year old son was about 17 he came to me and proudly announced he decided what made sense to him spiritually. It wasn’t Paganism, but I was so proud of him for making his decision. You see it doesn’t really matter what someone else believes. If it makes them, I believe it is a valid option for them. Besides, who gives anyone the right to tell someone what they “should” believe?

So I wonder, what myth do you believe?

Blessed be all my brothers and sisters in this world!

Twitter: @AnnaLevensonPsy (and for my new business with the lovely Lydia is @global_media1

Facebook: Anna Psy Levenson and Global Media Mavens

Instagram: annalevensonpsy and globalmediamavens

Our site is under construction, but be sure to visit us in a day or two at http://www.globalmediamavens.com