be happy or dignified? I know I’m guilty. We love playing would you rather, but this was a quote I saw on a decorative box. I would rather be happy than dignified (a quote, I realize now, from Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte). What comes to mind when you think of these two words? For me, happiness is the hubbs, my kiddos, seeing family, reading, baking, and what I am passionate about of course, all the things that make life worth getting up every day. What about dignified? I should think it would look quite different.

I think of this old show, Dharma and Greg (with Jenna Elfman and Thomas Gibson in a delightful show!), and if you haven’t seen it, go back and watch it right now. Its about this girl, Dharma, raised by hippies in San Fransisco and her new husband, Greg, raised by rich, dignified folks, also in San Fran. The show is so funny because they’re so different and, being raised by Jewish Hippies myself, I identify. Greg’s parents are the epitome, to me, of dignified. Rich, upper crust, and not caught dead having fun. It often delights in making these dignified folks doing these crazy thing, usually because of Dharma. The funny thing about it was when they were uncomfortable that’s when they seem to be having the most fun. That’s when they seemed to most… happy.

So would you rather be happy or dignified? My mother was always been concerned about what others think of us, what they see looking into our lives. Personally, I think it’s stupid and bloody exhausting! I really don’t care if someone doesn’t like what they see. I care if I’m happy. I care if the hubbs is happy. I care if my kids are happy. Fulfilled? Yes, absolutely! Satisfied? Oh yes! Accomplished? Most definitely. But not for anyone, but ourselves. I want my children to have a job they want to go to every day. I want them to feel they’re making a difference. I want to live the best life I can live and I want them to as well.

There’s no dignified there. Just happiness.

@drruth2point0- twitter

Anna DrRuth ForToday- facebook

linusbaby1998- tumblr (an homage to a very very old screen name lol)

Anna Levenson-Pintrest

